1	BUSINESS MEETING
2	
3	TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 27, 2022
4	United States Senate,
5	Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, & Forestry,
6	Washington, D.C.,
7	The Committee met, pursuant to notice, at 5:44 p.m., in
8	Room S-216, the Capitol, Hon. Debbie Stabenow, Chairwoman of
9	the Committee, presiding.
10	Present: Senators Stabenow, Brown, Klobuchar, Bennet,
11	Gillibrand, Smith, Durbin, Luján, Warnock, Boozman, Hoeven,
12	Ernst, Hyde-Smith, Marshall, Grassley, and Braun.
13	OPENING STATEMENT OF CHAIRWOMAN STABENOW
14	Chairwoman Stabenow. I now call to order a business
15	meeting of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition,
16	and Forestry.
17	Today, we consider the nominations of Dr. Jose Emilio
18	Esteban, to be Under Secretary for Food Safety at the U.S.
19	Department of Agriculture; Mr. Vincent Logan to be a Member
20	of the Farm Credit Administration Board; and Ms. Alexis
21	Taylor to be Under Secretary for Trade and Foreign
22	Agricultural Affairs at the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
23	I strongly support all three of these nominees, who are
24	extremely qualified to fill their respective posts.
25	Senator Boozman, do you have any comments?

- 1 Senator Boozman. I, like you, also support all three,
- 2 and look forward to getting them confirmed.
- Chairwoman Stabenow. As there is no further debate, we
- 4 can move to the votes. Per agreement with the Ranking
- 5 Member, we are going to take roll call votes to report the
- 6 nominations.
- 7 I move to vote on the nomination of Dr. Esteban.
- 8 The Clerk will call the roll.
- 9 The Clerk. Senator Boozman.
- 10 Senator Boozman. Aye.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator McConnell.
- 12 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator Hoeven.
- 14 Senator Hoeven. Aye.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator Ernst.
- 16 Senator Ernst. Aye.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Hyde-Smith.
- 18 Senator Hyde-Smith. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Marshall.
- 20 Senator Marshall. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Tuberville.
- 22 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 23 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
- 24 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 25 The Clerk. Senator Thune.

- 1 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Fischer.
- 3 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Braun.
- 5 Senator Braun. Aye.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Leahy.
- 7 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye by proxy.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 9 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Klobuchar.
- 11 Senator Klobuchar. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 13 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Gillibrand.
- 15 Senator Gillibrand. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Smith.
- 17 Senator Smith. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Durbin.
- 19 Senator Durbin. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Booker.
- 21 Chairwoman Stabenow. No by proxy.
- 22 The Clerk. Senator Luján.
- 23 Senator Luján. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Warnock.
- 25 Senator Warnock. Aye.

- 1 The Clerk. Chairwoman Stabenow.
- 2 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. That is 21 ayes, one nay.
- 4 Chairwoman Stabenow. The ayes have it.
- 5 The nomination of Dr. Jose Emilio Esteban to be Under
- 6 Secretary for Food Safety at the U.S. Department of
- 7 Agriculture is ordered reported favorably.
- 8 Now I move to vote on the nomination of Mr. Vincent
- 9 Logan.
- 10 The Clerk will call the roll.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Boozman.
- 12 Senator Boozman. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator McConnell.
- 14 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator Hoeven.
- 16 Senator Hoeven. Aye.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Ernst.
- 18 Senator Ernst. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Hyde-Smith.
- 20 Senator Hyde-Smith. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Marshall.
- 22 Senator Marshall. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Tuberville.
- 24 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 25 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.

- 1 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- 3 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Fischer.
- 5 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Braun.
- 7 Senator Braun. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Leahy.
- 9 Chairman Stabenow. Aye by proxy.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 11 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Klobuchar.
- 13 Senator Klobuchar. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 15 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Gillibrand.
- 17 Senator Gillibrand. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Smith.
- 19 Senator Smith. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Durbin.
- 21 Senator Durbin. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Booker.
- Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye by proxy.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Luján.
- 25 Senator Luján. Aye.

- 1 The Clerk. Senator Warnock.
- 2 Senator Warnock. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. Chairwoman Stabenow.
- 4 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye.
- 5 The Clerk. That is 22 ayes, zero nays.
- 6 Chairwoman Stabenow. The Ayes have it.
- 7 The nomination of Mr. Vincent Logan to be a Member of
- 8 the Farm Credit Administration Board is ordered reported
- 9 favorably.
- I now move to vote on the nomination of Ms. Alexis
- 11 Taylor.
- 12 The Clerk will call the roll.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator Boozman.
- 14 Senator Boozman. Aye.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator McConnell.
- 16 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Hoeven.
- 18 Senator Hoeven. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Ernst.
- 20 Senator Ernst. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Hyde-Smith.
- 22 Senator Hyde-Smith. Aye.
- The Clerk. Senator Marshall.
- 24 Senator Marshall. Aye.
- 25 The Clerk. Senator Tuberville.

- 1 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.
- 3 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- 5 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Fischer.
- 7 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Braun.
- 9 Senator Braun. Aye.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Leahy.
- 11 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye by proxy.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 13 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Klobuchar.
- 15 Senator Klobuchar. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 17 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Gillibrand.
- 19 Senator Gillibrand. Aye.
- 20 The Clerk. Senator Smith.
- 21 Senator Smith. Aye.
- 22 The Clerk. Senator Durbin.
- 23 Senator Durbin. Aye.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Booker.
- Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye by proxy.

- 1 The Clerk. Senator Luján.
- 2 Senator Luján. Aye.
- 3 The Clerk. Senator Warnock.
- 4 Senator Warnock. Aye.
- 5 The Clerk. Chairwoman Stabenow.
- 6 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye.
- 7 The Clerk. That is 22 ayes, zero nays.
- 8 Chairwoman Stabenow. The ayes have it.
- 9 The nomination of Ms. Alexis Taylor to be Under
- 10 Secretary for Trade and Foreign Agricultural Affairs at the
- 11 U.S. Department of Agriculture is ordered reported
- 12 favorably.
- 13 Thank you, this business meeting is adjourned.
- [Whereupon, at 6:02 p.m., the Committee was adjourned.]