Page 1

1 BUSINESS MEETING 2 _ _ _ 3 WEDNESDAY, MARCH 23, 2022 4 United States Senate, 5 Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, 6 Washington, D.C., 7 The Committee met, pursuant to notice, at 2:18 p.m., in 8 Room S-216, the Capitol, Hon. Debbie Stabenow, Chairwoman of 9 the Committee, presiding. 10 Present: Senators Stabenow, Brown, Klobuchar, Bennet, 11 Smith, Luján, Warnock, Boozman, Hoeven, Ernst, Hyde-Smith, 12 Marshall, Tuberville, Grassley, Thune, Fischer, and Braun. OPENING STATEMENT OF CHAIRWOMAN STABENOW 13 14 Chairwoman Stabenow. I now call to order a business 15 meeting of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, 16 and Forestry. 17 Today, we consider the nominations of the Honorable 18 Christy Goldsmith Romero, Kristin Johnson, Summer Mersinger, 19 and Caroline Pham to serve as Commissioners of the Commodity 20 Futures Trading Commission. 21 I strongly support all four of these nominees, who are 22 extremely qualified to lead the Commission. Senator Boozman, do you have any comments? 23 24 Senator Boozman. Well, we are very anxious to get the

25 CFTC up and running again and this is two good Republicans

1 and two Democrats, so that should put us in a much better
2 place.

3 Chairwoman Stabenow. Yes, I agree.

As there is no further debate, we can move to the votes. Per agreement with the Ranking Member, we are going to take a roll call vote en bloc to report the nominations of Ms. Goldsmith Romero, Ms. Johnson, Ms. Mersinger, and Ms. Pham to serve as Commissioners of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission.

- 10 The Clerk will call the roll.
- 11 The Clerk. Senator Boozman.
- 12 Senator Boozman. Aye.
- 13 The Clerk. Senator McConnell.
- 14 Senator Boozman. Aye by proxy.
- 15 The Clerk. Senator Hoeven.
- 16 Senator Hoeven. Aye.
- 17 The Clerk. Senator Ernst.
- 18 Senator Ernst. Aye.
- 19 The Clerk. Senator Hyde-Smith.
- 20 Senator Hyde-Smith. Aye.
- 21 The Clerk. Senator Marshall.
- 22 Senator Marshall. Aye.
- 23 The Clerk. Senator Tuberville.
- 24 Senator Tuberville. Aye.
- 25 The Clerk. Senator Grassley.

- 1 Senator Grassley. Aye.
- 2 The Clerk. Senator Thune.
- 3 Senator Thune. Aye.
- 4 The Clerk. Senator Fischer.
- 5 Senator Fischer. Aye.
- 6 The Clerk. Senator Braun.
- 7 Senator Braun. Aye.
- 8 The Clerk. Senator Leahy.
- 9 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye by proxy.
- 10 The Clerk. Senator Brown.
- 11 Senator Brown. Aye.
- 12 The Clerk. Senator Klobuchar.
- 13 Senator Klobuchar. Aye.
- 14 The Clerk. Senator Bennet.
- 15 Senator Bennet. Aye.
- 16 The Clerk. Senator Gillibrand.
- 17 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye by proxy.
- 18 The Clerk. Senator Smith.
- 19 Senator Smith. Aye.
- 20 The Clerk. Senator Durbin.
- 21 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye by proxy.
- 22 The Clerk. Senator Booker.
- 23 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye by proxy.
- 24 The Clerk. Senator Luján.
- 25 Senator Luján. Aye.

1 The Clerk. Senator Warnock.

2 Senator Warnock. Aye.

3 The Clerk. Chairwoman Stabenow.

4 Chairwoman Stabenow. Aye.

5 The Clerk. That is 22 ayes, zero nays.

6 Chairwoman Stabenow. The ayes have it.

7 The nominations of Christy Goldsmith Romero, Kristin 8 Johnson, Summer Mersinger, and Caroline Pham to serve as 9 Commissioners of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission 10 are ordered reported favorably.

11 The business meeting is adjourned.

12 [Whereupon, at 3:05 p.m., the Committee was adjourned.]

- 13
- 14
- 15
- 16
- 17
- 18
- 19
- 20
- 21
- 22
- 23
- 24
- 25